Deft Duelist Shards of Alara Esper Charm

Empyrial Archangel Empyrial Archangel English

Creature — Angel 5/8, 4WWUG (8)


Shroud (This creature can't be the target of spells or abilities.)

All damage that would be dealt to you is dealt to Empyrial Archangel instead.

Her wings are the prayers of the devoted; her sword, the despair of the vile.

Illus. Greg Staples

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: Suppose you control Empyrial Archangel and a planeswalker, and a source controlled by an opponent would deal noncombat damage to you. Both Empyrial Archangel and the planeswalker have effects that change (or could change) what that damage would be dealt to. You choose one to apply.
    -- If you apply Empyrial Archangel's effect, the damage is redirected to it. The planeswalker replacement effect is no longer applicable.
    -- If you apply the planeswalker replacement effect, your opponent then chooses whether he or she wants to redirect the damage to your planeswalker. If your opponent does, that many loyalty counters are removed from the it. If your opponent doesn't, then Empyrial Archangel's effect applies and the damage is redirected to it.
#166 (Greg Staples)

English Shards of Alara (Mythic Rare)

German Himmlischer Erzengel
French Archange de l'empyrée
Italian Arcangelo Empireo
Spanish Arcángel empírea
Portuguese Arcanjo Empírico
Japanese 浄火の大天使
Simplified Chinese 穹光大天使
Russian Архангел Небесного Огня

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Empyrial Archangel
View Decks with Empyrial Archangel
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.