Stoic Angel Shards of Alara Thoughtcutter Agent

Swerve Swerve English

Instant, UR (2)

Change the target of target spell with a single target.

"We can't beat the necromancers in numbers or raw power. We must beat them with ingenuity and timing."
—Rannon, Vithian holdout

Illus. Karl Kopinski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: Swerve targets only the spell whose target will be changed. It doesn't directly affect the original target of that spell or the new target of that spell.
  • 10/1/2008: You don't choose the new target for the spell until Swerve resolves. You must change the target if possible. However, you can't change the target to an illegal target. If there are no legal targets, the target isn't changed. It doesn't matter if the original target of that spell has somehow become illegal.
  • 10/1/2008: If you cast Swerve on a spell that targets a spell on the stack (like Cancel does, for example), you can't change that spell's target to itself. You can, however, change that spell's target to Swerve. If you do, that spell will be countered when it tries to resolve because Swerve will have left the stack by then.
  • 10/1/2008: If a spell targets multiple things, you can't target it with Swerve, even if all but one of those targets has become illegal.
  • 10/1/2008: If a spell targets the same player or object multiple times, you can't target it with Swerve.
  • 3/1/2010: An Aura spell on the stack targets the object or player which it will enchant upon entering the battlefield. Thus, an Aura spell is a “spell with a single target”, which means you may use Swerve to change that target. Doing so will cause it to enter the battlefield enchanting the new target rather than the original one.
Printings:
#200 (Karl Kopinski)

Editions:
English Shards of Alara (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Abweichen
French Embardée
Italian Spostare
Spanish Virar
Portuguese Divergir
Japanese 急転回
Simplified Chinese 方向偏离
Russian Отклонение


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Swerve
View Decks with Swerve
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.