Obelisk of Naya Shards of Alara Relic of Progenitus

Quietus Spike Quietus Spike English

Artifact — Equipment, 3 (3)

Equipped creature has deathtouch.

Whenever equipped creature deals combat damage to a player, that player loses half his or her life, rounded up.

Equip {3}

Illus. Mark Brill

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: That player loses half his or her life after combat damage has been subtracted from the player's life total. The amount of life the player loses is determined as the triggered ability resolves.
  • 10/1/2008: If multiple Quietus Spikes trigger at the same time, that player loses half his or her life when the first ability resolves, then loses half of the remainder when the next ability resolves, and so on. The player does not lose the same amount each time.
  • 6/15/2010: In a Two-Headed Giant game, if a creature equipped with Quietus Spike would assign combat damage to the defending team, its damage is assigned to only one of the defending players. After combat damage is dealt, Quietus Spike looks at that player's life total (which is the same as the team's life total) when determining how much life the team will lose, which basically means the team's life total is halved. Here's an example of the math: The team has 19 life, so the player has 19 life. Quietus Spike causes the team to lose 10 life (19 divided by 2, rounded up). The team's life total becomes 9 (19 minus 10).
#217 (Mark Brill)

English Commander 2017 (Rare)
English Planechase Anthology (Rare)
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Rare)
English Shards of Alara (Rare)

German Todesstoß-Nadel
French Pointe de quiétude
Italian Punta del Colpo di Grazia
Spanish Estaca de quietud
Portuguese Espículo Quietus
Japanese 滅消の杭
Simplified Chinese 封喉刺
Russian Пика Успокоения

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Quietus Spike
View Decks with Quietus Spike
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.