Anathemancer Alara Reborn Breath of Malfegor

Bituminous Blast Bituminous Blast English

Instant, 3BR (5)

Cascade (When you cast this spell, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card that costs less. You may cast it without paying its mana cost. Put the exiled cards on the bottom of your library in a random order.)

Bituminous Blast deals 4 damage to target creature.

Illus. Raymond Swanland

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2009: Cascade triggers when you cast the spell, meaning that it resolves before that spell. If you end up casting the exiled card, it will go on the stack above the spell with cascade.
  • 5/1/2009: When the cascade ability resolves, you must exile cards. The only optional part of the ability is whether or not you cast the last card exiled.
  • 5/1/2009: If a spell with cascade is countered, the cascade ability will still resolve normally.
  • 5/1/2009: You exilethe cards face-up. All players will be able to see them.
  • 5/1/2009: If you cast the last exiled card, you're casting it as a spell. It can be countered. If that card has cascade, the new spell's cascade ability will trigger, and you'll repeat the process for the new spell.
  • 5/1/2009: After you're done exiling cards and casting the last one if you chose to do so, the remaining exiled cards are randomly placed on the bottom of your library. Neither you nor any other player is allowed to know the order of those cards.
  • 4/18/2017: The converted mana cost of a split card is determined by the combined mana cost of its two halves. If cascade allows you to cast a split card, you may cast either half but not both halves.
Printings:
#34 (Raymond Swanland)

Editions:
English Planechase Anthology (Uncommon)
English Commander 2016 (Uncommon)
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Uncommon)
English Archenemy (Uncommon)
English Alara Reborn (Uncommon)
English Magic Player Rewards (Special)

Languages:
German Pechhaltiger Strahl
French Salve bitumeuse
Italian Esplosione di Bitume
Spanish Ráfaga bituminosa
Portuguese Explosão Betuminosa
Japanese 瀝青破
Simplified Chinese 沥青冲击
Russian Битуминозная Волна


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Bituminous Blast
View Decks with Bituminous Blast
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.