Cloven Casting Alara Reborn Magefire Wings

Double Negative Double Negative English

Instant, UUR (3)

Counter up to two target spells.

They feared each other for their differences but were absolutely terrified at their similarities.

Illus. Parente

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2009: You may cast Double Negative with no targets, one target, or two targets.
  • 5/1/2009: In order to counter two target spells, both of those spells must be on the stack at the time you cast Double Negative. Two spells can be on the stack at the same time as the result of an ability (such as cascade or replicate), as the result of a copy effect (such as the one from Cloven Casting or Twincast), or because a spell has been cast in response to another spell.
  • 5/1/2009: It's unusual for a player to cast a spell in response to his or her own spell, and that will be specifically called out when it happens. Under normal circumstances, if a player casts a spell, it is assumed that the player passes priority afterward. If that player casts another spell, it is assumed that each other player has also passed priority, which caused the first spell to resolve and the first player to receive priority again. Unless the first player says otherwise, only one spell will be on the stack at a time in that scenario.
#87 (Parente)

English Alara Reborn (Uncommon)

German Doppelte Verneinung
French Double négative
Italian Raddoppiare il Negativo
Spanish Doble negativo
Portuguese Negativo Duplo
Japanese 二重否定
Simplified Chinese 双重否定
Russian Двойное Отрицание

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Double Negative
View Decks with Double Negative
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.