Lord of Extinction Alara Reborn Marrow Chomper

Maelstrom Pulse Maelstrom Pulse English

Sorcery, 1BG (3)

Destroy target nonland permanent and all other permanents with the same name as that permanent.

During the collision of the shards, entire ways of life disappeared without a trace.

Illus. Anthony Francisco

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2009: Maelstrom Pulse has only one target. If that permanent is an illegal target as Maelstrom Pulse tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. Nothing will be destroyed.
  • 5/1/2009: The name of a creature token is the same as its creature types unless the token is a copy of another creature or the effect that created the token specifically gives it a different name. For example, a 1/1 Soldier creature token is named “Soldier.”
  • 5/1/2009: A face-down creature has no name, so it doesn't have the same name as anything else.
  • 7/1/2013: If Maelstrom Pulse resolves but the targeted permanent isn't destroyed (perhaps because it regenerates or has indestructible), all other permanents with the same name as it will still be destroyed (unless they also have indestructible.
#92 (Anthony Francisco)

English Amonkhet Invocations (Special)
English Modern Masters (Rare)
English Alara Reborn (Rare)
English Grand Prix (Special)

German Puls des Mahlstroms
French Pulsation du Maelstrom
Italian Impulso del Maelstrom
Spanish Pulso del Remolino
Portuguese Pulsar do Maelstrom
Japanese 大渦の脈動
Simplified Chinese 涡心鼓动
Russian Пульсация Мальстрема

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Maelstrom Pulse
View Decks with Maelstrom Pulse
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.