Pathbreaker Wurm Avacyn Restored Rain of Thorns

Primal Surge Primal Surge English

Sorcery, 8GG (10)

Exile the top card of your library. If it's a permanent card, you may put it onto the battlefield. If you do, repeat this process.

With Avacyn's return, the flow of life became a tidal wave.

Illus. David Rapoza

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2012: A permanent card is an artifact, creature, enchantment, land, or planeswalker card.
  • 5/1/2012: Repeating the process includes the instruction to repeat the process. That is, you'll keep exiling cards and putting them onto the battlefield until you fail to put a permanent card onto the battlefield.
  • 5/1/2012: If you exile a permanent card that you can't put onto the battlefield (such as an Aura with nothing legal to enchant) or one you don't want to put onto the battlefield, Primal Surge finishes resolving.
  • 5/1/2012: If putting any of those permanent cards onto the battlefield causes abilities to trigger, those abilities will wait to go on the stack until Primal Surge has finished resolving. Starting with the active player, each player puts his or her abilities on the stack in any order.
#189 (David Rapoza)

English Avacyn Restored (Mythic Rare)

German Urwoge
French Déferlement primordial
Italian Impulso Primordiale
Spanish Recarga primigenia
Portuguese Surto Primordial
Japanese 原初のうねり
Simplified Chinese 原初翻腾
Russian Первобытная Волна
Traditional Chinese 原初翻騰
Korean 원초적 격동

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Primal Surge
View Decks with Primal Surge
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.