Knotvine Mystic Conflux Magister Sphinx

Maelstrom Archangel Maelstrom Archangel English

Creature — Angel 5/5, WUBRG (5)


Whenever Maelstrom Archangel deals combat damage to a player, you may cast a nonland card from your hand without paying its mana cost.

There is no world where angels fear to tread.

Illus. Cyril Van Der Haegen

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: If you want to cast a card this way, you cast it as part of the resolution of Maelstrom Angel’s triggered ability. Timing restrictions based on the card’s type (such as creature or sorcery) are ignored. Other casting restrictions are not (such as “Cast [this card] only before attackers are declared”).
  • 2/1/2009: If you cast a card this way, you’re casting it as a spell. It can be countered.
  • 2/1/2009: If you cast a card with X in its cost this way, X must be 0.
  • 2/1/2009: If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t pay any alternative costs, such as evoke or the alternative cost provided by the morph ability. However, you can pay optional additional costs, such as conspire, and you must still pay mandatory additional costs, such as the one on Goldmeadow Stalwart.
#115 (Cyril Van Der Haegen)

English Conflux (Mythic Rare)

German Mahlstrom-Erzengel
French Archange du Maelstrom
Italian Arcangelo del Maelstrom
Spanish Arcángel del Remolino
Portuguese Arcanjo do Maelstrom
Japanese 大渦の大天使
Simplified Chinese 涡心大天使
Russian Архангел Мальстрема

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Maelstrom Archangel
View Decks with Maelstrom Archangel
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.