Wrecking Ball Commander Zedruu the Greathearted

Wrexial, the Risen Deep Wrexial, the Risen Deep English

Legendary Creature — Kraken 5/8, 3UUB (6)

Islandwalk, swampwalk (This creature can't be blocked as long as defending player controls an Island or a Swamp.)

Whenever Wrexial, the Risen Deep deals combat damage to a player, you may cast target instant or sorcery card from that player's graveyard without paying its mana cost. If that card would be put into a graveyard this turn, exile it instead.

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/1/2010: If you want to cast the targeted card, you cast it as part of the resolution of Wrexial's triggered ability. Timing restrictions based on the card's type are ignored. Other restrictions are not (such as “Cast [this card] only during your end step”).
  • 3/1/2010: If you are unable to cast the targeted card (there are no legal targets for the spell, for example), nothing happens when the ability resolves, and the card remains in its owner's graveyard.
  • 3/1/2010: If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can't pay any alternative costs. On the other hand, if the card has additional costs (such as kicker or multikicker), you may pay those.
  • 3/1/2010: If you cast the targeted card and it would be put into its owner's graveyard from the stack for any reason (either because it resolves or because it's countered), that card is exiled instead.
#239 (Eric Deschamps)

English Commander (Mythic Rare)
English Worldwake (Mythic Rare)

German Wrexial aus der Tiefe
French Wrexial, Émergence des Profondeurs
Italian Wrexial, l'Abisso Vivente
Spanish Wrexial, la profundidad emergente
Portuguese Wrexial, a Profundeza Emersa
Japanese 目覚めし深海、レクシャル
Simplified Chinese 昂行潜兽瑞克萧
Russian Рексиал, Восставшая Пучина
Korean Wrexial, the Risen Deep

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Wrexial, the Risen Deep
View Decks with Wrexial, the Risen Deep
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.