Buried Alive Commander Dark Hatchling

Butcher of Malakir Butcher of Malakir English

Creature — Vampire Warrior 5/4, 5BB (7)


Whenever Butcher of Malakir or another creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature.

His verdict is always guilty. His sentence is always death.

Illus. Jason Chan

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/1/2010: When the triggered ability resolves, first the player whose turn it is (if that player is an opponent) chooses which creature he or she will sacrifice, then each other opponent in turn order does the same, then all chosen creatures are sacrificed at the same time.
  • 3/1/2010: If multiple creatures you control (possibly including Butcher of Malakir itself) are put into their owners' graveyards at the same time, Butcher of Malakir's triggered ability will trigger that many times.
  • 3/1/2010: If you control more than one Butcher of Malakir and a creature you control is put into a graveyard, each of those Butchers' abilities will trigger. Each opponent will sacrifice a creature each time one of those abilities resolves.
  • 3/1/2010: If you and an opponent each control a Butcher of Malakir and a creature is put into a graveyard, a chain reaction happens. First the ability of one player's Butcher will trigger, causing each opponent to sacrifice a creature. That sacrifice causes the ability of the other player's Butcher to trigger, and so on.
#75 (Jason Chan)

English Commander 2017 (Rare)
English Commander Anthology (Rare)
English Commander 2015 (Rare)
English Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi (Rare)
English Commander 2014 Edition (Rare)
English Duel Decks: Sorin vs. Tibalt (Rare)
English Commander (Rare)
English Worldwake (Rare)

German Schlächter von Malakir
French Boucher de Malakir
Italian Macellaio di Malakir
Spanish Carnicero de Malakir
Portuguese Carniceiro de Malakir
Japanese マラキールの解体者
Simplified Chinese 马拉奇屠夫
Russian Малакирский Мясник
Korean Butcher of Malakir

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Butcher of Malakir
View Decks with Butcher of Malakir
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.