Champs Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind

Electrolyze Electrolyze English

Instant, 1UR (3)

Electrolyze deals 2 damage divided as you choose among one or two target creatures and/or players.

Draw a card.

Illus. Zoltan Boros & Gabor Szikszai

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 11/17/2017: You divide the damage as you cast Electrolyze, not as it resolves. Each target must be assigned at least 1 damage. In other words, as you cast Electrolyze, you choose whether to have it deal 2 damage to a single target, or deal 1 damage to each of two targets.
  • 11/17/2017: If Electrolyze targets two creatures and one becomes an illegal target, the remaining target is dealt 1 damage, not 2. You'll still draw a card.
  • 11/17/2017: If all chosen targets are illegal as Electrolyze tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. No damage will be dealt and you won't draw a card.

2006 Champs Promos

#1 (Zoltan Boros & Gabor Szikszai)

English Iconic Masters (Uncommon)
English Modern Masters 2015 Edition (Uncommon)
English Modern Masters (Uncommon)
English Commander (Uncommon)
English Guildpact (Uncommon)
English Champs (Special)
English Media Inserts (Special)

German Elektrolysieren
French Électrolyse
Italian Elettrolisi
Spanish Electrolizar
Portuguese Eletrolisar
Japanese 電解
Simplified Chinese 电解
Russian Электролиз

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Electrolyze
View Decks with Electrolyze
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.