Bane Alley Blackguard Dragon's Maze Crypt Incursion

Blood Scrivener Blood Scrivener English

Creature — Zombie Wizard 2/1, 1B (2)

If you would draw a card while you have no cards in hand, instead draw two cards and lose 1 life.

Make sure you bleed the fine print.

Illus. Peter Mohrbacher

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: Any time you are instructed to draw more than one card, you draw them one at a time. For example, if you control Blood Scrivener and have no cards in hand and you're instructed to “draw two cards,” your first card draw is replaced by drawing two cards and losing 1 life, then you'll draw the second card from the original instruction. In total, you'll draw three cards and lose 1 life.
  • 4/15/2013: Each additional Blood Scrivener you control will effectively add one card and 1 life lost. Say you control two Blood Scriveners and would draw a card while you have no cards in hand. The effect of one Blood Scrivener will replace the event “draw a card” with “draw two cards and lose 1 life.” The effect of the other Blood Scrivener will replace the drawing of the first of those two cards with “draw two cards and lose 1 life.” You'll draw two cards and lose 1 life, then draw another card and lose another 1 life.
#22 (Peter Mohrbacher)

English Dragon's Maze (Rare)

German Blutschreiber
French Scribe de sang
Italian Scrivano del Sangue
Spanish Escribano sangriento
Portuguese Blood Scrivener
Japanese 血の公証人
Simplified Chinese 鲜血书记
Russian Кровавый Писарь
Traditional Chinese 鮮血書記
Korean 피의 서기관

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Blood Scrivener
View Decks with Blood Scrivener
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.