Word of Binding The Dark Amnesia

Worms of the Earth Worms of the Earth English

Enchantment, 2BBB (5)

Players can't play lands.

Lands can't enter the battlefield.

At the beginning of each upkeep, any player may sacrifice two lands or have Worms of the Earth deal 5 damage to that player. If a player does either, destroy Worms of the Earth.

The ground collapsed, leaving nothing but the great Worms' mucous residues.

Illus. Anson Maddocks

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Land can't enter the battlefield, so an effect that “puts a land onto the battlefield” won't do anything, and the land will stay where it is.
  • 10/4/2004: If you cast a spell or activate an ability that lets you put a land onto the battlefield, the effect fails. You'll still do everything else the spell or ability tells you to do, such as shuffle the library.
  • 5/1/2006: In Two-Headed Giant, triggers only once per upkeep, not once for each player.
  • 8/1/2008: If a permanent spell tries to enter the battlefield as a land during its resolution (for instance, a Clone entering the battlefield as a copy of a Dryad Arbor or an animated Mutavault), it is put into its owner's graveyard instead of entering the battlefield. It never enters the battlefield, so abilities that would have triggered on it entering the battlefield won't trigger.
Printings:
#18 (Anson Maddocks)

Editions:
English The Dark (Rare (U1))

Languages:
Italian Vermi della Terra


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Worms of the Earth
View Decks with Worms of the Earth
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.