Leviathan The Dark Merfolk Assassin

Mana Vortex Mana Vortex English

Enchantment, 1UU (3)

When you cast this spell, counter it unless you sacrifice a land.

At the beginning of each player's upkeep, that player sacrifices a land.

When there are no lands on the battlefield, sacrifice Mana Vortex.

Illus. Douglas Shuler

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: When you cast Mana Vortex, its first ability triggers and goes on the stack on top of the Mana Vortex spell. The triggered ability resolves first. When it resolves, you either sacrifice a land or you counter Mana Vortex.
  • 10/1/2009: Mana Vortex's third ability is a “state trigger.” Once a state trigger triggers, it won't trigger again as long as the ability is on the stack. If the ability is countered and the trigger condition is still true, it will immediately trigger again.
Printings:
#30 (Douglas Shuler)

Editions:
English The Dark (Rare (U1))
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Rare)

Languages:
Italian Vortice di Mana


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Mana Vortex
View Decks with Mana Vortex
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.