Falkenrath Aristocrat Dark Ascension Huntmaster of the Fells

Havengul Lich Havengul Lich English

Creature — Zombie Wizard 4/4, 3UB (5)

{1}: You may cast target creature card in a graveyard this turn. When you cast that card this turn, Havengul Lich gains all activated abilities of that card until end of turn.

Fusing intelligence with the power of undeath requires inspiration of the darkest kind.

Illus. James Ryman

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: Havengul Lich's activated ability creates a delayed triggered ability that triggers when you cast the creature card. This triggered ability will go on the stack on top of the creature spell and will resolve before the creature spell will.
  • 1/22/2011: If you don't cast the creature card that turn, Havengul Lich won't gain any of its abilities.
  • 1/22/2011: Havengul Lich gains the activated abilities of the card while that card is still a spell on the stack.
  • 4/15/2013: Havengul Lich's ability changes the zone you are permitted to cast the card from, not the times you are permitted to cast it. You can cast a creature card that has been targeted by Havengul Lich from the graveyard, but unless it has flash, you can only do so if it's your main phase, the stack is empty, and you have priority.
  • 6/8/2016: Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keywords are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text.
#139 (James Ryman)

English Commander 2017 (Mythic Rare)
English Dark Ascension (Mythic Rare)

German Lich aus Pfuhlhaven
French Liche de Havengul
Italian Lich di Havengul
Spanish Liche de Havengul
Portuguese Lich de Havengul
Japanese ヘイヴングルの死者
Simplified Chinese 海温古巫妖
Russian Хавенгульский Лич
Traditional Chinese 海溫古巫妖
Korean 헤이븐굴 리치

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Havengul Lich
View Decks with Havengul Lich
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.