Puncturing Blow Hour of Devastation Thorned Moloch

Sand Strangler Sand Strangler English

Creature — Beast 3/3, 3R (4)

When Sand Strangler enters the battlefield, if you control a Desert or there is a Desert card in your graveyard, you may have Sand Strangler deal 3 damage to target creature.

The bombardment of sand disorients, chokes, and ultimately tenderizes its prey.

Illus. Aaron Miller

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/14/2017: If an ability checks whether you control a Desert or there is a Desert card in your graveyard, having more than one doesn’t matter. Controlling one is the same as controlling five. There is also no extra bonus for both controlling one and having one in your graveyard.
  • 7/14/2017: For abilities that trigger only if you control a Desert or there is a Desert card in your graveyard, one condition must be true as the ability triggers and one must be true as the ability resolves. They don’t have to be the same condition, though. For example, you could sacrifice your only Desert after the ability triggers but before it has resolved.
Printings:
#107 (Aaron Miller)

Editions:
English Hour of Devastation (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Sandbestie
French Étrangleur des sables
Italian Soffocatore delle Sabbie
Spanish Estrangulador de las arenas
Portuguese Asfixiador das Areias
Japanese 砂かけ獣
Simplified Chinese 沙漠绞杀兽
Russian Песчаный Душитель
Traditional Chinese 沙漠絞殺獸
Korean 모래 교살자


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Sand Strangler
View Decks with Sand Strangler
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.