The Locust God Hour of Devastation Obelisk Spider

Nicol Bolas, God-Pharaoh Nicol Bolas, God-Pharaoh English

Planeswalker — Bolas (Loyalty: 7), 4UBR (7)

+2: Target opponent exiles cards from the top of his or her library until he or she exiles a nonland card. Until end of turn, you may cast that card without paying its mana cost.

+1: Each opponent exiles two cards from his or her hand.

−4: Nicol Bolas, God-Pharaoh deals 7 damage to target opponent or creature an opponent controls.

−12: Exile each nonland permanent your opponents control.

Illus. Raymond Swanland

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/14/2017: The cards exiled by Nicol Bolas’s first and second abilities are exiled face up.
  • 7/14/2017: You may cast the nonland card exiled by Nicol Bolas’s first ability that turn even if Nicol Bolas is no longer on the battlefield or under your control.
  • 7/14/2017: Casting the card exiled with Nicol Bolas’s first ability follows the normal timing rules for casting that card. For example, if the card is a creature card, you can cast that card only during your main phase while the stack is empty.
  • 7/14/2017: If you don’t cast the card exiled by Nicol Bolas’s first ability that turn, it will remain exiled.
  • 7/14/2017: If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t pay any alternative costs, such as emerge costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, such as that of Tormenting Voice, you must pay those to cast the card.
  • 7/14/2017: If the card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.
  • 7/14/2017: While resolving Nicol Bolas’s second ability, each opponent chooses which cards to exile from his or her hand. Any opponent with two or fewer cards exiles his or her entire hand.
  • 7/14/2017: In a multiplayer game, if a player leaves the game, all cards that player owns leave as well. If you leave the game, any spell or permanent cards you control from Nicol Bolas’s first ability are exiled.
Printings:
#140 (Raymond Swanland)

Editions:
English Hour of Devastation (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Nicol Bolas, Gott-Pharao
French Nicol Bolas, Dieu-Pharaon
Italian Nicol Bolas, Dio Faraone
Spanish Nicol Bolas, Dios Faraón
Portuguese Nicol Bolas, Faraó-Deus
Japanese 王神、ニコル・ボーラス
Simplified Chinese 法老神尼可波拉斯
Russian Никол Болас, Бог-Фараон
Traditional Chinese 法老神尼可波拉斯
Korean 신 파라오 니콜 볼라스


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Nicol Bolas, God-Pharaoh
View Decks with Nicol Bolas, God-Pharaoh
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.