Nicol Bolas, God-Pharaoh Hour of Devastation Resolute Survivors

Obelisk Spider Obelisk Spider English

Creature — Spider 1/4, 1BG (3)

Reach

Whenever Obelisk Spider deals combat damage to a creature, put a -1/-1 counter on that creature.

Whenever you put one or more -1/-1 counters on a creature, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain 1 life.

Illus. YW Tang

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: If a creature with wither or infect deals damage to a creature, the controller of the creature with wither or infect puts that many -1/-1 counters on the second creature.
  • 7/14/2017: Obelisk Spider’s first triggered ability puts only one -1/-1 counter on the creature, no matter how much combat damage it dealt.
  • 7/14/2017: If Obelisk Spider deals combat damage to a creature but that creature isn’t on the battlefield as Obelisk Spider’s first triggered ability resolves, most likely because Obelisk Spider killed that creature already, that ability won’t put a -1/-1 counter on it.
  • 7/14/2017: Because damage remains marked on a creature until it’s removed as the turn ends, the counter Obelisk Spider’s first triggered ability puts on a creature may cause previously marked damage to become lethal.
  • 7/14/2017: If Obelisk Spider deals combat damage to a creature at the same time Obelisk Spider is dealt lethal damage, its first triggered ability will put a -1/-1 counter on the other creature. However, because Obelisk Spider has left the battlefield before that ability resolves, its last ability won’t trigger.
  • 7/14/2017: If you put one or more -1/-1 counter on each of multiple creatures at the same time, Obelisk Spider’s last ability triggers once for each of those creatures.
  • 7/14/2017: In a Two-Headed Giant game, Obelisk Spider’s last ability causes the opposing team to lose 2 life and you gain 1 life.
Printings:
#141 (YW Tang)

Editions:
English Hour of Devastation (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Obelisken-Spinne
French Araignée des obélisques
Italian Ragno degli Obelischi
Spanish Araña del obelisco
Portuguese Aranha do Obelisco
Japanese オベリスクの蜘蛛
Simplified Chinese 石碑蜘蛛
Russian Паук Обелисков
Traditional Chinese 石碑蜘蛛
Korean 오벨리스크 거미


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Obelisk Spider
View Decks with Obelisk Spider
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.