Woodland Stream Hour of Devastation Wasp of the Bitter End

Nicol Bolas, the Deceiver Nicol Bolas, the Deceiver English

Planeswalker — Bolas (Loyalty: 5), 5UBR (8)

+3: Each opponent loses 3 life unless that player sacrifices a nonland permanent or discards a card.

−3: Destroy target creature. Draw a card.

−11: Nicol Bolas, the Deceiver deals 7 damage to each opponent. You draw seven cards.

Illus. Svetlin Velinov

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/14/2017: While resolving Nicol Bolas’s first ability, your opponent chooses a card to be discarded without revealing it, chooses a nonland permanent to be sacrificed, or chooses to do neither. Then that player discards that card, sacrifices that permanent, or loses 3 life. Your opponent can always choose to lose 3 life, even if he or she has cards to discard or nonland permanents to sacrifice.
  • 7/14/2017: In a multiplayer game, each opponent in turn order makes his or her choice for Nicol Bolas’s first ability, then all of the actions occur simultaneously. Opponents will know choices made by earlier opponents when making their choices, although a card chosen to be discarded this way isn’t revealed until it’s discarded.
  • 7/14/2017: If the target of Nicol Bolas’s second ability becomes illegal, the ability is countered and you won’t draw a card. If that target is legal but can’t be destroyed, most likely because it has indestructible, you still draw a card.
  • 7/14/2017: If Nicol Bolas’s third ability causes each opponent to have 0 or less life, but it also causes you to try to draw more cards than you have in your library, the game ends in a draw.
Printings:
#205 (Svetlin Velinov)

Editions:
English Hour of Devastation (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Nicol Bolas, der Täuscher
French Nicol Bolas, le manipulateur
Italian Nicol Bolas, l'Ingannatore
Spanish Nicol Bolas, el Embaucador
Portuguese Nicol Bolas, o Enganador
Japanese 欺瞞の主、ニコル・ボーラス
Simplified Chinese 欺瞒神龙尼可波拉斯
Russian Никол Болас, Обманщик
Traditional Chinese 欺瞞神龍尼可波拉斯
Korean 기만자, 니콜 볼라스


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Nicol Bolas, the Deceiver
View Decks with Nicol Bolas, the Deceiver
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.