Aven Reedstalker Hour of Devastation Countervailing Winds

Champion of Wits Champion of Wits English

Creature — Naga Wizard 2/1, 2U (3)

When Champion of Wits enters the battlefield, you may draw cards equal to its power. If you do, discard two cards.

Eternalize {5}{U}{U} ({5}{U}{U}, Exile this card from your graveyard: Create a token that's a copy of it, except it's a 4/4 black Zombie Naga Wizard with no mana cost. Eternalize only as a sorcery.)

Illus. Even Amundsen

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/14/2017: Use Champion of Wits’s power as the first ability resolves to determine if you want to use the ability and how many cards you draw if you do. If you use the ability, you discard two cards regardless of how many cards you draw. If Champion of Wits leaves the battlefield before that ability resolves, use its last known power.
  • 7/14/2017: For each card with eternalize, a corresponding game play supplement token can be found in some Hour of Devastation booster packs. These supplements are not required to play with cards with eternalize; you can use the same items to represent an eternalized token as you would any other token.
  • 7/14/2017: If a creature card with eternalize is put into your graveyard during your main phase, you’ll have priority immediately afterward. You can activate its eternalize ability before any player can try to exile it, such as with Crook of Condemnation, if it’s legal for you to do so.
  • 7/14/2017: Once you’ve activated an eternalize ability, the card is immediately exiled. Opponents can’t try to stop the ability by exiling the card with an effect such as that of Crook of Condemnation.
  • 7/14/2017: The token copies exactly what was printed on the original card and nothing else, except the characteristics specifically modified by eternalize. It doesn’t copy any information about the object the card was before it was put into your graveyard.
  • 7/14/2017: The token is a Zombie in addition to its other types and is black instead of its other colors. Its base power and toughness are 4/4. It has no mana cost, and thus its converted mana cost is 0. These are copiable values of the token that other effects may copy.
  • 7/14/2017: If the card copied by the token had any “when [this permanent] enters the battlefield” abilities, then the token also has those abilities and will trigger them when it’s created. Similarly, any “as [this permanent] enters the battlefield” or “[this permanent] enters the battlefield with” abilities that the token has copied will also work.
Printings:
#31 (Even Amundsen)

Editions:
English Hour of Devastation (Rare)

Languages:
German Champion des Scharfsinns
French Championne d'esprits
Italian Campionessa d'Ingegno
Spanish Campeona del ingenio
Portuguese Campeã do Raciocínio
Japanese 機知の勇者
Simplified Chinese 聪智斗士
Russian Поборница Разума
Traditional Chinese 聰智鬥士
Korean 기지의 투사


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Champion of Wits
View Decks with Champion of Wits
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.