Earthshaker Khenra Hour of Devastation Firebrand Archer

Fervent Paincaster Fervent Paincaster English

Creature — Human Wizard 3/1, 2R (3)

{T}: Fervent Paincaster deals 1 damage to target player.

{T}, Exert Fervent Paincaster: It deals 1 damage to target creature. (An exerted creature won't untap during your next untap step.)

"Everyone here is a honed fighter. We'll respond the only way we know how."

Illus. Matt Stewart

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: You can’t exert a creature unless an effect allows you to do so. Similar effects that “tap and freeze” a creature (such as that of Decision Paralysis) don’t exert that creature.
  • 4/18/2017: If an exerted creature is already untapped during your next untap step (most likely because it had vigilance or an effect untapped it), exert’s effect preventing it from untapping expires without having done anything.
  • 4/18/2017: If you gain control of another player’s creature until end of turn and exert it, it will untap during that player’s untap step.
  • 7/14/2017: Some cards in the Hour of Devastation set let you exert a creature as a cost to activate one of its abilities. You can exert it to pay that cost even if you’ve already exerted it earlier in the turn. Exerting it multiple times will keep it tapped only during your next untap step.
Printings:
#91 (Matt Stewart)

Editions:
English Hour of Devastation (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Inbrünstige Schmerzmagierin
French Lancedouleur fervente
Italian Scagliadolore Fervente
Spanish Causatormento ferviente
Portuguese Conjuradora de Dor Fervorosa
Japanese 熱烈の苦悶術師
Simplified Chinese 狂热致痛师
Russian Пылкая Волшебница Боли
Traditional Chinese 狂熱致痛師
Korean 열렬한 고통술사


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Fervent Paincaster
View Decks with Fervent Paincaster
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.