Wind Spirit Ice Age Word of Undoing

Winter's Chill Winter's Chill English

Instant, XU (1)

Cast Winter's Chill only during combat before blockers are declared.

X can't be greater than the number of snow lands you control.

Choose X target attacking creatures. For each of those creatures, its controller may pay {1} or {2}. If that player doesn't, destroy that creature at end of combat. If that player pays only {1}, prevent all combat damage that would be dealt to and dealt by that creature this combat.

Illus. Edward Beard, Jr.

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The payments are made when the spell resolves. The three options are: pay {2} to let creature act as normal, pay {1} to have creature neither deal or receive damage, or pay nothing and the creature does deal and receive damage but it will be destroyed at end of combat.
  • 9/20/2013: If a turn has multiple combat phases, this spell can be cast during any of them as long as it's before the beginning of that phase's Declare Blockers Step.
Printings:
#107 (Edward Beard, Jr.)

Editions:
English Ice Age (Rare)

Languages:
German Winterkälte
French Fraîcheur hivernale
Italian Brivido dell'Inverno
Spanish Frío invernal
Portuguese Calafrio de Inverno


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Winter's Chill
View Decks with Winter's Chill
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.