Cataclysmic Gearhulk Kaladesh Consul's Shieldguard

Consulate Surveillance Consulate Surveillance English

Enchantment, 3W (4)

When Consulate Surveillance enters the battlefield, you get {e}{e}{e}{e} (four energy counters).

Pay {e}{e}: Prevent all damage that would be dealt to you this turn by a source of your choice.

Illus. Daniel Ljunggren

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2016: Consulate Surveillance's second ability doesn't target anything. You choose a source of damage as it resolves.
  • 9/20/2016: If the chosen source would deal damage to you and one or more other players or permanents, only the damage that would be dealt to you is prevented.
  • 9/20/2016: If multiple prevention and/or replacement effects are trying to apply to the same damage, the player who would be dealt damage chooses the order in which to apply them. Notably, if noncombat damage would be dealt to you by a source controlled by an opponent, and you control a planeswalker, you choose the order in which to apply Consulate Surveillance's effect and the planeswalker redirection effect. If you apply Consulate Surveillance's effect first, the damage is prevented and the planeswalker redirection effect won't apply.
  • 2/9/2017: {e} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They're not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
  • 2/9/2017: Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
  • 2/9/2017: If an effect says you get one or more {e}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {e}, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters aren't mana. They don't go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can't give you energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: You can't pay more energy counters than you have.
Printings:
#10 (Daniel Ljunggren)

Editions:
English Kaladesh (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Konsulats-Überwachung
French Surveillance du consulat
Italian Sorveglianza del Consolato
Spanish Vigilancia del Consulado
Portuguese Vigilância do Consulado
Japanese 領事府の看視
Simplified Chinese 执政监视网
Russian Консульская Слежка
Traditional Chinese 執政監視網
Korean 영사관 감시체계


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Consulate Surveillance
View Decks with Consulate Surveillance
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.