Ceremonious Rejection Kaladesh Curio Vendor

Confiscation Coup Confiscation Coup English

Sorcery, 3UU (5)

Choose target artifact or creature. You get {e}{e}{e}{e} (four energy counters), then you may pay an amount of {e} equal to that permanent's converted mana cost. If you do, gain control of it.

"Citizens, do not resist. This is for your safety. Tezzeret bids you to surrender your inventions. Now."

Illus. Joseph Meehan

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2016: You choose the target artifact or creature as you cast Confiscation Coup. You don't choose whether or not to pay an amount of {e} until Confiscation Coup resolves. If the target becomes an illegal target, Confiscation Coup will be countered and you won't get {e}{e}{e}{e}.
  • 9/20/2016: If the target artifact or creature has a converted mana cost of 0, you may choose to pay zero energy and gain control of it.
  • 9/20/2016: If a permanent has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.
  • 9/20/2016: The converted mana cost of a token that isn't a copy of another object is 0. A token that is a copy of another object has the same mana cost as that object.
  • 9/20/2016: In a multiplayer game, if a permanent's owner leaves the game after you've gained control of it, the permanent leaves with that player. If you leave the game before that player, the control-change effect ends.
  • 2/9/2017: {e} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They're not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
  • 2/9/2017: Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
  • 2/9/2017: If an effect says you get one or more {e}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {e}, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters aren't mana. They don't go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can't give you energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: You can't pay more energy counters than you have.
  • 9/29/2017: There are many important moments in the story, but the most crucial—called “story spotlights”—are shown on cards. You can read more about these events in the official Magic fiction at http://www.mtgstory.com.
Printings:
#41 (Joseph Meehan)

Editions:
English Kaladesh (Rare)

Languages:
German Unfaire Konfiszierung
French Coup de confiscation
Italian Azione di Confisca
Spanish Incautación
Portuguese Golpe do Confisco
Japanese 慮外な押収
Simplified Chinese 即刻征收
Russian Заговор с Конфискацией
Traditional Chinese 即刻徵收
Korean 재산 몰수


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Confiscation Coup
View Decks with Confiscation Coup
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.