Captured by the Consulate Kaladesh Consulate Surveillance

Cataclysmic Gearhulk Cataclysmic Gearhulk English

Artifact Creature — Construct 4/5, 3WW (5)


When Cataclysmic Gearhulk enters the battlefield, each player chooses an artifact, a creature, an enchantment, and a planeswalker from among the nonland permanents he or she controls, then sacrifices the rest.

Illus. Victor Adame Minguez

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2016: First the player whose turn it is chooses permanents he or she controls, then each other player in turn order does the same. Each player will know the choices made by players who chose before them. All of the unchosen nonland permanents are then sacrificed simultaneously.
  • 9/20/2016: A permanent with more than one type may be chosen as either of the types or both. For example, an artifact creature may be chosen as the artifact, the creature, or both. Choosing the same permanent twice this way has the same result as choosing it once.
  • 9/20/2016: Cataclysmic Gearhulk will be sacrificed to its own ability if you don't choose it as your artifact or your creature.
  • 9/20/2016: Lands can't be chosen and won't be sacrificed, even if they have other types (such as an artifact land).
  • 9/20/2016: If you don't control any permanents of one of the types, you'll still choose the permanents of the types you do control.
#9 (Victor Adame Minguez)

English Kaladesh Inventions (Special)
English Kaladesh (Mythic Rare)

German Verheerender Mechakoloss
French Carcasse mécanique cataclysmique
Italian Meccatitano del Cataclisma
Spanish Mecatitán cataclísmico
Portuguese Mecanotitã Cataclísmico
Japanese 激変の機械巨人
Simplified Chinese 灾变巨械
Russian Мехагигант Катаклизмов
Traditional Chinese 災變巨械
Korean 격변의 톱니거신병

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Cataclysmic Gearhulk
View Decks with Cataclysmic Gearhulk
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.