Hell Swarm Legends Hell's Caretaker

Hellfire Hellfire English

Sorcery, 2BBB (5)

Destroy all nonblack creatures. Hellfire deals X plus 3 damage to you, where X is the number of creatures that died this way.

"High on a throne of royal state . . . insatiate to pursue vain war with heav'n." —John Milton, Paradise Lost

Illus. Pete Venters

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: Hellfire checks the number of creatures put into graveyards as the result of its effect, not the number of creatures destroyed as a result of its effect. For example, a replacement effect that says “If a creature would be put into a graveyard from the battlefield, exile it instead” won't affect whether a creature is destroyed or not, but will affect whether it's put into a graveyard or not.
  • 10/1/2009: A creature that regenerates instead of being destroyed doesn't leave the battlefield, so it's not put into a graveyard.
  • 10/1/2009: A token creature that's destroyed is put into its owner's graveyard, and will be counted by Hellfire's effect. (Immediately after Hellfire finishes resolving, the token will cease to exist.)
Printings:
#18 (Pete Venters)

Editions:
English Legends (Rare (R1))
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Rare)

Languages:
Italian Fuoco Infernale


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Hellfire
View Decks with Hellfire
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.