Colfenor's Plans Lorwyn Dreamspoiler Witches

Dread Dread English

Creature — Elemental Incarnation 6/6, 3BBB (6)

Fear (This creature can't be blocked except by artifact creatures and/or black creatures.)

Whenever a creature deals damage to you, destroy it.

When Dread is put into a graveyard from anywhere, shuffle it into its owner's library.

Illus. Matt Cavotta

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2007: The last ability triggers when the Incarnation is put into its owner's graveyard from any zone, not just from on the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2007: Although this ability triggers when the Incarnation is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, it doesn't *specifically* trigger on leaving the battlefield, so it doesn't behave like other leaves-the-battlefield abilities. The ability will trigger from the graveyard.
  • 10/1/2007: If the Incarnation had lost this ability while on the battlefield (due to Lignify, for example) and then was destroyed, the ability would still trigger and it would get shuffled into its owner's library. However, if the Incarnation lost this ability when it was put into the graveyard (due to Yixlid Jailer, for example), the ability wouldn't trigger and the Incarnation would remain in the graveyard.
  • 10/1/2007: If the Incarnation is removed from the graveyard after the ability triggers but before it resolves, it will remain in its new zone when its owner shuffles his or her library. Similarly, if a replacement effect has the Incarnation move to a different zone instead of being put into the graveyard, the ability won't trigger at all.
Printings:
#107 (Matt Cavotta)

Editions:
English Lorwyn (Rare)

Languages:
German Grauen
French Effroi
Italian Timore
Spanish Pavor
Portuguese Temor
Japanese 戦慄
Simplified Chinese 颤栗
Russian Жуть
Traditional Chinese 顫慄


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Dread
View Decks with Dread
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.