Weakness Magic 2010 Zombie Goliath

Xathrid Demon Xathrid Demon English

Creature — Demon 7/7, 3BBB (6)

Flying, trample

At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice a creature other than Xathrid Demon, then each opponent loses life equal to the sacrificed creature's power. If you can't sacrifice a creature, tap Xathrid Demon and you lose 7 life.

Illus. Wayne Reynolds

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: When the ability resolves, if you control any other creatures, you must sacrifice one of them. You lose life only if no creature can be sacrificed.
  • 10/1/2009: If you have two Xathrid Demons, both abilities will trigger at the beginning of your upkeep. When the first Demon's ability resolves, you can sacrifice the second Demon to satisfy the requirement (“Sacrifice a creature other than Xathrid Demon” really means “Sacrifice a creature other than this creature”). When the second Demon's ability resolves, you must sacrifice another creature. If you can't (because the first Demon has somehow left the battlefield and you control no other creatures), you lose 7 life, regardless of whether the second Demon is still on the battlefield at this time.
#122 (Wayne Reynolds)

English Commander 2014 Edition (Mythic Rare)
English Magic 2010 (Mythic Rare)

German Xathrid-Dämon
French Démon de Xathrid
Italian Demone di Xathrid
Spanish Demonio de Xathrid
Portuguese Demônio de Xathrid
Japanese ザスリッドの悪魔
Simplified Chinese 札兹离恶魔
Russian Демон Затрида

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Xathrid Demon
View Decks with Xathrid Demon
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.