Auramancer Magic 2014 Core Set Blessing

Banisher Priest Banisher Priest English

Creature — Human Cleric 2/2, 1WW (3)

When Banisher Priest enters the battlefield, exile target creature an opponent controls until Banisher Priest leaves the battlefield. (That creature returns under its owner's control.)

"Oathbreaker, I cast you out!"

Illus. Willian Murai

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/1/2013: Banisher Priest's ability causes a zone change with a duration, a new style of ability that's somewhat reminiscent of older cards like Oblivion Ring. However, unlike Oblivion Ring, cards like Banisher Priest have a single ability that creates two one-shot effects: one that exiles the creature when the ability resolves, and another that returns the exiled card to the battlefield immediately after Banisher Priest leaves the battlefield.
  • 7/1/2013: If Banisher Priest leaves the battlefield before its enters-the-battlefield ability resolves, the target creature won't be exiled.
  • 7/1/2013: Auras attached to the exiled creature will be put into their owners' graveyards. Equipment attached to the exiled creature will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled creature will cease to exist.
  • 7/1/2013: If a creature token is exiled, it ceases to exist. It won't be returned to the battlefield.
  • 7/1/2013: The exiled card returns to the battlefield immediately after Banisher Priest leaves the battlefield. Nothing happens between the two events, including state-based actions. The two creatures aren't on the battlefield at the same time. For example, if the returning creature is a Clone, it can't enter the battlefield as a copy of Banisher Priest.
  • 7/1/2013: In a multiplayer game, if Banisher Priest's owner leaves the game, the exiled card will return to the battlefield. Because the one-shot effect that returns the card isn't an ability that goes on the stack, it won't cease to exist along with the leaving player's spells and abilities on the stack.
#7 (Willian Murai)

English Duel Decks: Kiora vs. Elspeth (Uncommon)
English Magic 2014 Core Set (Uncommon)
English Friday Night Magic (Special)

German Bannende Priesterin
French Prêtresse bannisseuse
Italian Sacerdotessa Esiliatrice
Spanish Sacerdotisa desterradora
Portuguese Sacerdote Banidor
Japanese 放逐する僧侶
Simplified Chinese 逐令僧侣
Russian Изгоняющая Жрица
Traditional Chinese 逐令僧侶
Korean 추방의 사제

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Banisher Priest
View Decks with Banisher Priest
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.