Scythe Leopard Media Inserts Munda's Vanguard

Genesis Hydra Genesis Hydra English

Creature — Plant Hydra 0/0, XGG (2)

When you cast Genesis Hydra, reveal the top X cards of your library. You may put a nonland permanent card with converted mana cost X or less from among them onto the battlefield. Then shuffle the rest into your library.

Genesis Hydra enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it.

Illus. Peter Mohrbacher

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/18/2014: Genesis Hydra’s first ability will resolve before Genesis Hydra does. Notably, if you put an Aura card onto the battlefield this way, it can’t enchant Genesis Hydra.
  • 7/18/2014: If you put an Aura onto the battlefield this way, you choose what it enchants as it enters the battlefield. This doesn’t target any permanent or player. For example, you could put an Aura onto the battlefield enchanting a creature with hexproof controlled by an opponent.
  • 7/18/2014: If there’s an {X} in the mana cost of the nonland permanent card, X is 0.
  • 7/18/2014: If “the rest” is zero cards, either because X was 0 or because X was 1 and that card was put onto the battlefield, the library is still shuffled.

Retail Promotional Card (A13 2015)

#142 (Peter Mohrbacher)

English Magic 2015 (Rare)
English Media Inserts (Special)

German Genesis-Hydra
French Hydre de genèse
Italian Idra della Genesi
Spanish Hidra del génesis
Portuguese Hidra da Gênese
Japanese 起源のハイドラ
Simplified Chinese 创生多头龙
Russian Гидра Порождения
Traditional Chinese 創生多頭龍
Korean 창조 히드라

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Genesis Hydra
View Decks with Genesis Hydra
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.