Celestial Colonnade Media Inserts Kor Skyfisher

Retaliator Griffin Retaliator Griffin English

Creature — Griffin 2/2, 1WRG (4)


Whenever a source an opponent controls deals damage to you, you may put that many +1/+1 counters on Retaliator Griffin.

For every eye, an eye. For every tooth, a tooth. Griffins are nothing if not fair.

Illus. Jesper Ejsing

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2009: The source of combat damage is the creature that dealt it.
  • 5/1/2009: If a spell causes damage to be dealt, that spell will always identify the source of the damage. In most cases, the source is the spell itself. For example, Breath of Malfegor says “Breath of Malfegor deals 5 damage to each opponent.”
  • 5/1/2009: If an ability causes damage to be dealt, that ability will always identify the source of the damage. The ability itself is never the source. However, the source of the ability is often the source of the damage. For example, Deathbringer Thoctar’s ability says “Deathbringer Thoctar deals 1 damage to target creature or player.”
  • 5/1/2009: If the source of the damage is a permanent, Retaliator Griffin checks whether an opponent controls that permanent at the time that damage is dealt. If the permanent has left the battlefield by then, its last known information is used. If the source of the damage is a spell, whether it’s controlled by an opponent is obvious. If the source of the damage is a card in some other zone (such as a cycled Jund Sojourners), Retaliator Griffin checks whether the card’s owner, rather than its controller, is an opponent.
  • 5/1/2009: If Retaliator Griffin is dealt lethal damage at the same time that you’re dealt damage by a source an opponent controls, Retaliator Griffin will be put into a graveyard before it would receive any counters. Its ability will still trigger, but it will do nothing when it resolves.

Target Promo

#24 (Jesper Ejsing)

English Alara Reborn (Rare)
English Media Inserts (Special)

German Rächer-Greif
French Griffon talion
Italian Grifone Vendicativo
Spanish Grifo vengador
Portuguese Grifo Retaliador
Japanese 報復するグリフィン
Simplified Chinese 回敬狮鹫
Russian Грифон-Мстительница

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Retaliator Griffin
View Decks with Retaliator Griffin
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.