Tromokratis Magic: The Gathering Launch Parties Dragone Throne of Tarkir

Dictate of the Twin Gods Dictate of the Twin Gods English

Enchantment, 3RR (5)

Flash

If a source would deal damage to a permanent or player, it deals double that damage to that permanent or player instead.

Iroas and Mogis are as different in appearance as they are in personality.

Illus. Chase Stone

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/26/2014: Dictate of the Twin Gods applies to any damage, not just combat damage. It also doesn't matter who controls the source of the damage that's being dealt.
  • 4/26/2014: The source of the damage doesn't change. A spell that deals damage will specify the source of the damage, often the spell itself. An ability that deals damage will also specify the source of the damage, although the ability itself will never be that source. Often the source of the ability is also the source of the damage.
  • 4/26/2014: If more than one Dictate of the Twin Gods is on the battlefield, damage dealt will double for each one (two of them will end up multiplying the damage by four, three of them by eight, and four of them by sixteen).
  • 4/26/2014: If multiple effects modify how damage will be dealt, the player being dealt damage or the controller of the permanent being dealt damage chooses the order to apply the effects. For example, the ability of Decorated Griffin says “Prevent the next 1 combat damage that would be dealt to you this turn.” Suppose you would be dealt 3 combat damage and you activate the ability of Decorated Griffin. You can either (a) prevent 1 damage first and then let Dictate of the Twin Gods's effect double the remaining 2 damage, for a result of being dealt 4 damage, or (b) double the damage to 6 and then prevent 1 damage, for a result of being dealt 5 damage.
Comment:

Journey into Nyx

Printings:
#26 (Chase Stone)

Editions:
English Journey into Nyx (Rare)
English Magic: The Gathering Launch Parties (Special)

Languages:
German Gebot der Zwillingsgötter
French Précepte des dieux jumeaux
Italian Dettami degli Dei Gemelli
Spanish Mandato de los dioses gemelos
Portuguese Decreto dos Deuses Gêmeos
Japanese 双子神の指図
Simplified Chinese 双子神的旨意
Russian Веление Богов-Близнецов
Traditional Chinese 雙子神的旨意
Korean 쌍둥이 신의 규율


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Dictate of the Twin Gods
View Decks with Dictate of the Twin Gods
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.