Recross the Paths Morningtide Rhys the Exiled

Reins of the Vinesteed Reins of the Vinesteed English

Enchantment — Aura, 3G (4)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature gets +2/+2.

When enchanted creature dies, you may return Reins of the Vinesteed from your graveyard to the battlefield attached to a creature that shares a creature type with that creature.

Illus. Jim Pavelec

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/1/2008: Reins of the Vinesteed's last ability triggers if it and the creature it's enchanting are both put into the graveyard at the same time, or if the creature it's enchanting is put into the graveyard but Reins of the Vinesteed isn't. (In the second case, Reins of the Vinesteed is then put into the graveyard as a state-based action.)
  • 4/1/2008: As the triggered ability resolves, check which creatures on the battlefield have any of the creature types that the previously enchanted creature had as it left the battlefield. If that creature was a Goblin Rogue, for example, Reins of the Vinesteed can be returned to the battlefield attached to either a Goblin creature or a Rogue creature.
  • 4/1/2008: This triggered ability doesn't target a creature. You may return Reins of the Vinesteed to the battlefield attached to a creature that has shroud, for example. However, the creature must be able to be legally enchanted by Reins of the Vinesteed. You can't return Reins of the Vinesteed to the battlefield attached to a creature that has protection from green, for example.
  • 4/1/2008: You can choose to return Reins of the Vinesteed to the battlefield attached to a creature another player controls. You still control Reins of the Vinesteed. When that creature is put into a graveyard, the ability of Reins of the Vinesteed will trigger again and you'll be able choose another creature for the Aura to enchant.
Printings:
#134 (Jim Pavelec)

Editions:
English Morningtide (Common)

Languages:
German Zaumzeug der Rankenstute
French Rênes de la monturlierre
Italian Redini del Destriero Rampicante
Spanish Riendas del corcel de parra
Portuguese Rédeas da Hipoerva
Japanese 蔦馬の手綱
Simplified Chinese 藤驹缰绳
Russian Обуздание Оплетенного Скакуна
Traditional Chinese 藤駒韁繩


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Reins of the Vinesteed
View Decks with Reins of the Vinesteed
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.