Rabid Bloodsucker Magic Origins Reave Soul

Read the Bones Read the Bones English

Sorcery, 2B (3)

Scry 2, then draw two cards. You lose 2 life. (To scry 2, look at the top two cards of your library, then put any number of them on the bottom of your library and the rest on top in any order.)

The dead know lessons the living haven't learned.

Illus. Lars Grant-West

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/15/2013: The loss of life is part of the spell's effect. It's not an additional cost. If Read the Bones is countered, you won't lose life.
  • 9/15/2013: When you scry, you may put all the cards you look at back on top of your library, you may put all of those cards on the bottom of your library, or you may put some of those cards on top and the rest of them on the bottom.
  • 9/15/2013: You choose how to order cards returned to your library after scrying no matter where you put them.
  • 9/15/2013: You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, that means you'll scry last. For others, that means you'll scry and then perform other actions.
  • 9/15/2013: Scry appears on some spells and abilities with one or more targets. If all of the spell or ability's targets are illegal when it tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. You won't scry.
Printings:
#114 (Lars Grant-West)

Editions:
English Commander 2017 (Common)
English Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi (Common)
English Magic Origins (Common)
English Commander 2014 Edition (Common)
English Theros (Common)

Languages:
German Aus den Knochen lesen
French Lire dans les os
Italian Leggere le Ossa
Spanish Lectura de huesos
Portuguese Leia os Ossos
Japanese 骨読み
Simplified Chinese 解读骨卦
Russian Гадание по Костям
Traditional Chinese 解讀骨卦
Korean 뼈로 친 점


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Read the Bones
View Decks with Read the Bones
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.