Abbot of Keral Keep Magic Origins Act of Treason

Acolyte of the Inferno Acolyte of the Inferno English

Creature — Human Monk 3/1, 2R (3)

Renown 1 (When this creature deals combat damage to a player, if it isn't renowned, put a +1/+1 counter on it and it becomes renowned.)

Whenever Acolyte of the Inferno becomes blocked by a creature, it deals 2 damage to that creature.

Illus. Joseph Meehan

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/22/2015: Acolyte of the Inferno's last ability will trigger once for each creature that blocks it. Each of those creatures will be dealt 2 damage.
  • 6/22/2015: Acolyte of the Inferno's last ability triggers and resolves before combat damage is dealt. If that causes each creature blocking Acolyte of the Inferno to be destroyed, Acolyte of the Inferno will remain blocked and neither deal nor be dealt combat damage.
  • 6/22/2015: Renown won't trigger when a creature deals combat damage to a planeswalker or another creature. It also won't trigger when a creature deals noncombat damage to a player.
  • 6/22/2015: If a creature with renown deals combat damage to its controller because that damage was redirected, renown will trigger.
  • 6/22/2015: If a renown ability triggers, but the creature leaves the battlefield before that ability resolves, the creature doesn't become renowned. Any ability that triggers “whenever a creature becomes renowned” won't trigger.
Printings:
#128 (Joseph Meehan)

Editions:
English Magic Origins (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Tempeldiener des Infernos
French Acolyte de la fournaise
Italian Accolito dell'Inferno
Spanish Acólito del infierno
Portuguese Acólito do Inferno
Japanese 業火の侍祭
Simplified Chinese 炼狱侍僧
Russian Послушник Адского Пламени
Traditional Chinese 煉獄侍僧
Korean 지옥불 견습 사제


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Acolyte of the Inferno
View Decks with Acolyte of the Inferno
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.