Heavy Infantry Magic Origins Knight of the Pilgrim's Road

Hixus, Prison Warden Hixus, Prison Warden English

Legendary Creature — Human Soldier 4/4, 3WW (5)

Flash (You may cast this spell any time you could cast an instant.)

Whenever a creature deals combat damage to you, if Hixus, Prison Warden entered the battlefield this turn, exile that creature until Hixus leaves the battlefield. (That creature returns under its owner's control.)

Illus. Chris Rallis

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/22/2015: Hixus's ability causes a zone change with a duration, a style of ability that's somewhat reminiscent of older cards like Oblivion Ring. However, unlike Oblivion Ring, cards like Hixus have a single ability that creates two one-shot effects: one that exiles the creature when the ability resolves, and another that returns the exiled card to the battlefield immediately after Hixus leaves the battlefield.
  • 6/22/2015: If Hixus leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, the creature that dealt combat damage to you won't be exiled.
  • 6/22/2015: Auras attached to the exiled creatures will be put into their owners' graveyards. Equipment attached to the exiled creatures will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled creatures will cease to exist.
  • 6/22/2015: If a creature token is exiled, it ceases to exist. It won't be returned to the battlefield.
  • 6/22/2015: The exiled cards return to the battlefield immediately after Hixus leaves the battlefield. Nothing happens between the two events, including state-based actions.
  • 6/22/2015: In a multiplayer game, if Hixus's owner leaves the game, the exiled cards will return to the battlefield. Because the one-shot effect that returns the cards isn't an ability that goes on the stack, it won't cease to exist along with the leaving player's spells and abilities on the stack.
#19 (Chris Rallis)

English Magic Origins (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)
English Media Inserts (Special)

German Hixus der Gefängniswärter
French Hixus, gardien de prison
Italian Hixus, Guardiano della Prigione
Spanish Hixus, carcelero
Portuguese Hixus, o Carcereiro
Japanese 牢獄の管理人、ヒクサス
Simplified Chinese 典狱长希瑟思
Russian Хиксус, Тюремный Надзиратель
Traditional Chinese 典獄長希瑟思
Korean 간수 힉서스

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Hixus, Prison Warden
View Decks with Hixus, Prison Warden
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.