Tower Geist Magic Origins Watercourser

Turn to Frog Turn to Frog English

Instant, 1U (2)

Until end of turn, target creature loses all abilities and becomes a blue Frog with base power and toughness 1/1.


Illus. Warren Mahy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/18/2014: The creature will lose all other colors and creature types, but it will retain any other card types (such as artifact) or supertypes (such as legendary) it may have.
  • 7/18/2014: Turn to Frog overwrites all previous effects that set the creature’s base power and toughness to specific values. Any power- or toughness-setting effects that start to apply after Turn to Frog resolves will overwrite this effect.
  • 7/18/2014: Turn to Frog doesn’t counter abilities that have already triggered or been activated. In particular, there is no way to cast this spell to stop a creature’s ability that says “At the beginning of your upkeep,” “When this creature enters the battlefield,” or similar from triggering.
  • 7/18/2014: If the affected creature gains an ability after Turn to Frog resolves, it will keep that ability.
  • 7/18/2014: Effects that modify a creature’s power and/or toughness, such as the effect of Titanic Growth, will apply to the creature no matter when they started to take effect. The same is true for any counters that change its power and/or toughness and effects that switch its power and toughness.
  • 7/18/2014: If one of the Theros block Gods is affected by Turn to Frog, it will be a legendary 1/1 blue Frog enchantment creature with no abilities. If it stops being a creature, perhaps because your devotion to its color(s) decreased, it will be a legendary blue enchantment with no abilities. The way continuous effects work, the God’s type-changing ability is applied before the effect that removes that ability is applied.
#81 (Warren Mahy)

English Magic Origins (Uncommon)
English Commander 2014 Edition (Uncommon)
English Magic 2015 (Uncommon)
English Magic 2012 (Uncommon)

German Verfroschen
French Transformation en grenouille
Italian Tramutare in Rana
Spanish Convertir en rana
Portuguese Transformar em Sapo
Japanese 蛙変化
Simplified Chinese 化蛙术
Russian Превращение в Лягушку
Traditional Chinese 化蛙術
Korean 개구리로 변신

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Turn to Frog
View Decks with Turn to Frog
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.