High Sentinels of Arashin Prerelease Events Ivorytusk Fortress

Icy Blast Icy Blast English

Instant, XU (1)

Tap X target creatures.

Ferocious — If you control a creature with power 4 or greater, those creatures don't untap during their controllers' next untap steps.

"Do not think the sand or the sun will hold back the breath of winter."

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2014: You check if you control a creature with power 4 or greater as Icy Blast resolves. It doesn't matter if you control such a creature during any of the relevant untap steps.
  • 9/20/2014: Icy Blast can target a creature that's already tapped. It still won't untap during its controller's next untap step.
  • 9/20/2014: Icy Blast tracks the creature, but not its controller. If the creature changes controllers before its first controller's next untap step has come around, then it won't untap during its new controller's next untap step.
  • 9/20/2014: Some ferocious abilities that appear on instants and sorceries use the word “instead.” These spells have an upgraded effect if you control a creature with power 4 or greater as they resolve. For these, you only get the upgraded effect, not both effects.
  • 9/20/2014: Ferocious abilities of instants and sorceries that don't use the word “instead” will provide an additional effect if you control a creature with power 4 or greater as they resolve.
Comment:

Khans of Tarkir

Printings:
#105 (Eric Deschamps)

Editions:
English Khans of Tarkir (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Eiskalter Strahl
French Salve glaciale
Italian Esplosione Ghiacciata
Spanish Ráfaga helada
Portuguese Rajada Gélida
Japanese 凍氷破
Simplified Chinese 寒冰冲击
Russian Ледяной Взрыв
Traditional Chinese 寒冰衝擊
Korean 한기폭발


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Icy Blast
View Decks with Icy Blast
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.