Soulfire Grand Master Prerelease Events Supplant Form

Soulflayer Soulflayer English

Creature — Demon 4/4, 4BB (6)

Delve (Each card you exile from your graveyard while casting this spell pays for {1}.)

If a creature card with flying was exiled with Soulflayer's delve ability, Soulflayer has flying. The same is true for first strike, double strike, deathtouch, haste, hexproof, indestructible, lifelink, reach, trample, and vigilance.

Illus. Seb McKinnon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 11/24/2014: Creature cards that have abilities that grant the listed keyword abilities to themselves won't count. For example, exiling a Battle Brawler (a creature with “As long as you control a red or white permanent, Battle Brawler gets +1/+0 and has first strike”) with Soulflayer's delve ability won't cause Soulflayer to have first strike, even if you control a red or white permanent.
  • 11/24/2014: You can't exile more cards from your graveyard than you'd need to pay Soulflayer's generic mana requirement. In most situations, this means you can't exile more than four cards, even if you want to exile more to give it extra abilities.
  • 11/24/2014: You exile cards from your graveyard at the same time you pay the spell's cost. Exiling a card this way is simply another way to pay that cost.
  • 11/24/2014: Delve doesn't change a spell's mana cost or converted mana cost. For example, the converted mana cost of Tasigur's Cruelty (with mana cost {5}{B}) is 6 even if you exile three cards to cast it.
  • 11/24/2014: You can't exile cards to pay for the colored mana requirements of a spell with delve.
  • 11/24/2014: You can't exile more cards than the generic mana requirement of a spell with delve. For example, you can't exile more than five cards from your graveyard to cast Tasigur's Cruelty.
  • 11/24/2014: Because delve isn't an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs.
Comment:

Fate Reforged

Printings:
#151 (Seb McKinnon)

Editions:
English Fate Reforged (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Seelenschinder
French Écorcheur d'âme
Italian Scorticatore di Anime
Spanish Desollador de almas
Portuguese Flagelador de Alma
Japanese 魂剥ぎ
Simplified Chinese 掠魂魔
Russian Свежеватель Душ
Traditional Chinese 掠魂魔
Korean 영혼약탈자


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Soulflayer
View Decks with Soulflayer
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.