Abbot of Keral Keep Prerelease Events Chandra's Ignition

Alhammarret, High Arbiter Alhammarret, High Arbiter English

Legendary Creature — Sphinx 5/5, 5UU (7)


As Alhammarret, High Arbiter enters the battlefield, each opponent reveals his or her hand. You choose the name of a nonland card revealed this way.

Your opponents can't cast spells with the chosen name (as long as this creature is on the battlefield).

Illus. Richard Wright

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/22/2015: Alhammarret's second ability happens as Alhammarret enters the battlefield. No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the time a card is named and the time that Alhammarret's last ability starts to work.
  • 6/22/2015: You choose one card name, not one name per opponent.
  • 6/22/2015: Although spells with the chosen name can't be cast, permanent cards with that name can still be put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability.
  • 6/22/2015: If your opponents have no nonland cards in their hands, you can't choose a card name. Alhammarret's last ability won't stop any spells from being cast in that case.
  • 6/22/2015: Your opponents can still cast a card with the chosen name face down if it has a morph ability. A card with the chosen name can also be manifested.

Magic Origins

#199 (Richard Wright)

English Magic Origins (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)
English Media Inserts (Special)

German Alhammarret, Hoher Schlichter
French Alhammarret, grand arbitre
Italian Alhammarret, Sommo Giudice
Spanish Alhammarret, árbitro supremo
Portuguese Alhammarret, Juiz Supremo
Japanese 高位調停者、アルハマレット
Simplified Chinese 高等仲裁者阿哈玛瑞特
Russian Альхаммарет, Верховный Судья
Traditional Chinese 高等仲裁者阿哈瑪瑞特
Korean 재판장 알함마렛

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Alhammarret, High Arbiter
View Decks with Alhammarret, High Arbiter
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.