Devoid (This card has no color.)
Choose one or both —
• Return target spell or creature to its owner's hand.
• Brutal Expulsion deals 2 damage to target creature or planeswalker. If that permanent would be put into a graveyard this turn, exile it instead.
Illus. Victor Adame Minguez
Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?
- 8/25/2015: If a spell is returned to its owner's hand, it's removed from the stack. The spell isn't countered, but it won't resolve. If a copy of a spell is returned to a hand this way, the copy will cease to exist the next time state-based actions are performed.
- 8/25/2015: The second mode will exile the target creature or planeswalker if it would be put into the graveyard this turn for any reason, not just due to lethal damage. The exile effect applies to that permanent even if Brutal Expulsion deals no damage to it (due to a prevention effect) or Brutal Expulsion deals damage to a different creature or planeswalker (due to a redirection effect).
- 8/25/2015: Cards with devoid use frames that are variations of the transparent frame traditionally used for Eldrazi. The top part of the card features some color over a background based on the texture of the hedrons that once imprisoned the Eldrazi. This coloration is intended to aid deckbuilding and game play.
- 8/25/2015: A card with devoid is just colorless. It's not colorless and the colors of mana in its mana cost.
- 8/25/2015: Other cards and abilities can give a card with devoid color. If that happens, it's just the new color, not that color and colorless.
- 8/25/2015: Devoid works in all zones, not just on the battlefield.
- 8/25/2015: If a card loses devoid, it will still be colorless. This is because effects that change an object's color (like the one created by devoid) are considered before the object loses devoid.
- Legal in Vintage (Type 1)
- Legal in Legacy (Type 1.5)
- Legal in Commander
- Legal in Modern
Battle for Zendikar
#248 (Victor Adame Minguez)
Battle for Zendikar (Rare)
Prerelease Events (Special)
all prints in all languages