Oran-Rief Hydra Prerelease Events Part the Waterveil

Painful Truths Painful Truths English

Sorcery, 2B (3)

Converge — You draw X cards and you lose X life, where X is the number of colors of mana spent to cast Painful Truths.

As the Eldrazi spread, no secret that could give Zendikar's defenders an advantage was considered too dangerous to seek.

Illus. Winona Nelson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/25/2015: The maximum number of colors of mana you can spend to cast a spell is five. Colorless is not a color. Note that the cost of a spell with converge may limit how many colors of mana you can spend.
  • 8/25/2015: Unless a spell or ability allows you to, you can’t choose to pay more mana for a spell with a converge ability just to spend more colors of mana. Likewise, if a spell or ability reduces the amount of mana it costs you to cast a spell with converge, you can’t ignore that cost reduction in order to spend more colors of mana.
  • 8/25/2015: If there are any alternative or additional costs to cast a spell with a converge ability, the mana spent to pay those costs will count. For example, if an effect makes sorcery spells cost {1} more to cast, you could pay {W}{U}{B}{R} to cast Radiant Flames and deal 4 damage to each creature.
  • 8/25/2015: If you cast a spell with converge without spending any mana to cast it (perhaps because an effect allowed you to cast it without paying its mana cost), then the number of colors spent to cast it will be zero.
  • 8/25/2015: If a spell with a converge ability is copied, no mana was spent to cast the copy, so the number of colors of mana spent to cast the spell will be zero. The number of colors spent to cast the original spell is not copied.
Comment:

Battle for Zendikar

Printings:
#281 (Winona Nelson)

Editions:
English Commander 2017 (Rare)
English Battle for Zendikar (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Schmerzliche Wahrheit
French Vérités douloureuses
Italian Verità Dolorose
Spanish Verdades que duelen
Portuguese Verdades Dolorosas
Japanese 苦い真理
Simplified Chinese 痛苦真相
Russian Болезненная Правда
Traditional Chinese 痛苦真相
Korean 고통스러운 진실


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Painful Truths
View Decks with Painful Truths
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.