Serra's Boon Duel Decks Anthology: Divine vs. Demonic Faith's Fetters

Angelic Benediction Angelic Benediction English

Enchantment, 3W (4)

Exalted (Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, that creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)

Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, you may tap target creature.

"Even in single combat, I am never alone."
—Rafiq of the Many

Illus. Michael Komarck

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: If you declare exactly one creature as an attacker, each exalted ability on each permanent you control (including, perhaps, the attacking creature itself) will trigger. The bonuses are given to the attacking creature, not to the permanent with exalted. Ultimately, the attacking creature will wind up with +1/+1 for each of your exalted abilities.
  • 10/1/2008: If you attack with multiple creatures, but then all but one are removed from combat, your exalted abilities won't trigger.
  • 10/1/2008: Some effects put creatures onto the battlefield attacking. Since those creatures were never declared as attackers, they're ignored by exalted abilities. They won't cause exalted abilities to trigger. If any exalted abilities have already triggered (because exactly one creature was declared as an attacker), those abilities will resolve as normal even though there may now be multiple attackers.
  • 10/1/2008: Exalted abilities will resolve before blockers are declared.
  • 10/1/2008: Exalted bonuses last until end of turn. If an effect creates an additional combat phase during your turn, a creature that attacked alone during the first combat phase will still have its exalted bonuses in that new phase. If a creature attacks alone during the second combat phase, all your exalted abilities will trigger again.
  • 10/1/2008: In a Two-Headed Giant game, a creature “attacks alone” if it's the only creature declared as an attacker by your entire team. If you control that attacking creature, your exalted abilities will trigger but your teammate's exalted abilities won't.
  • 7/1/2012: The creature you target with the last ability will become tapped before blockers are declared.
Printings:
#19 (Michael Komarck)

Editions:
English Duel Decks Anthology: Divine vs. Demonic (Uncommon)
English Magic 2013 (Uncommon)
English Duel Decks: Divine vs. Demonic (Uncommon)
English Shards of Alara (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Weihung der Engel
French Oraison angélique
Italian Protezione Angelica
Spanish Reconocimiento angelical
Portuguese Bendição Angelical
Japanese 天使の祝祷
Simplified Chinese 天使祈福
Russian Ангельское Освящение
Traditional Chinese 天使祈福
Korean 천사의 축복기도


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Angelic Benediction
View Decks with Angelic Benediction
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.