Armillary Sphere Commander 2017 Boros Signet

Blade of the Bloodchief Blade of the Bloodchief English

Artifact — Equipment, 1 (1)

Whenever a creature dies, put a +1/+1 counter on equipped creature. If equipped creature is a Vampire, put two +1/+1 counters on it instead.

Equip {1}

Illus. Jung Park

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: Blade of the Bloodchief's ability triggers regardless of who controlled the creature and whose graveyard it was put into.
  • 10/1/2009: The +1/+1 counters are put on the equipped creature, not Blade of the Bloodchief. If Blade of the Bloodchief is moved to a different creature, the +1/+1 counters will stay where they are.
  • 10/1/2009: The creature that gets the counters is the one that's equipped by Blade of the Bloodchief at the time the ability resolves. It doesn't matter what creature Blade of the Bloodchief was attached to (if any) when it triggered.
  • 10/1/2009: If Blade of the Bloodchief leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, the counters are put on the creature it was attached to at the time it left the battlefield. If it wasn't attached to a creature at that time, nothing gets the counters.
  • 10/1/2009: If the equipped creature itself is put into a graveyard, Blade of the Bloodchief's ability will trigger. However, it won't do anything when it resolves unless a spell or ability has caused it to become attached to another creature by that time. (Remember that you may activate an equip ability only as a sorcery.)
  • 10/1/2009: If the equipped creature and another creature are dealt lethal damage at the same time, the equipped creature will be put into a graveyard before it would receive any counters.
#204 (Jung Park)

English Commander 2017 (Rare)
English Zendikar (Rare)

German Klinge des Bluthäuptlings
French Lame du chef de sang
Italian Lama del Capo Sanguinario
Spanish Espada del jefe de sangre
Portuguese Espada do Grão-vampiro
Japanese 血の長の刃
Simplified Chinese 血侯之刃
Russian Клинок Кровавого Вождя

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Blade of the Bloodchief
View Decks with Blade of the Bloodchief
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.