Black Vise Kaladesh Inventions Defense Grid

Chalice of the Void Chalice of the Void English

Artifact, XX

Chalice of the Void enters the battlefield with X charge counters on it.

Whenever a player casts a spell with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Chalice of the Void, counter that spell.

Illus. Kieran Yanner

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 12/1/2004: A mana cost of {X}{X} means that you pay twice X. If you want X to be 3, you pay 6 mana to cast Chalice of the Void.
  • 12/1/2004: The number of counters on Chalice of the Void matters only at the time the spell is cast. Changing the number of charge counters on Chalice of the Void after a spell has been cast won't change whether the ability counters the spell. If the Chalice had the correct number of counters when the spell was cast, its ability will trigger. If the Chalice had too many or too few counters when the spell was cast, the Chalice's ability won't trigger.
  • 12/1/2004: If there are zero charge counters on Chalice of the Void, it counters each spell with a converted mana cost of 0.
  • 12/1/2004: Chalice of the Void has to be on the battlefield at the end of casting a spell for the ability to trigger. If you sacrifice Chalice of the Void as a cost to cast a spell, its ability can't trigger.
  • Restricted in Vintage (Type 1)
Printings:
#33 (Kieran Yanner)

Editions:
English Kaladesh Inventions (Special)
English Modern Masters (Rare)
English Mirrodin (Rare)

Languages:
German Kelch der Leere
French Calice du vide
Italian Calice del Nulla
Spanish Cáliz del vacío
Portuguese Cálice do Vácuo
Japanese 虚空の杯


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Chalice of the Void
View Decks with Chalice of the Void
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.