Blood Ogre Archenemy: Nicol Bolas Chandra's Outrage

Chandra, Pyromaster Chandra, Pyromaster English

Legendary Planeswalker — Chandra (Loyalty: 4), 2RR (4)

+1: Chandra, Pyromaster deals 1 damage to target player and 1 damage to up to one target creature that player controls. That creature can't block this turn.

0: Exile the top card of your library. You may play it this turn.

−7: Exile the top ten cards of your library. Choose an instant or sorcery card exiled this way and copy it three times. You may cast the copies without paying their mana costs.

Illus. Chris Rahn

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/18/2014: To activate the first ability, you must target a player but you can choose to not target any creatures.
  • 7/18/2014: If the first ability resolves but the damage is prevented or redirected, the target creature still won't be able to block that turn.
  • 7/18/2014: The card exiled by the second ability is exiled face up. Playing it follows the normal rules for playing that card. You must pay its costs, and you must follow all applicable timing rules. For example, if it's a creature card, you can cast it only during your main phase while the stack is empty.
  • 7/18/2014: If you exile a land card using the second ability, you may play that land only if you have any available land plays. Normally, this means you can play the land only if you haven't played a land yet that turn.
  • 7/18/2014: In the third ability, “exiled this way” means the cards you just exiled because of that ability resolving. Cards exiled with the second ability or with previous activations of the third ability don't count.
  • 7/18/2014: While resolving the third ability, you create the copies of the card in exile and cast them from exile. You can cast zero, one, two, or all three copies. The card itself isn't cast. It remains exiled.
  • 7/18/2014: While casting the copies created by the third ability, timing restrictions based on the card's type (such as creature or sorcery) are ignored. Other restrictions, such as “Cast [this spell] only during combat,” are not.
  • 7/18/2014: Because you're casting the copies “without paying their mana costs,” you can't pay any alternative costs for the copies. You can pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the copies have any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those.
  • 7/18/2014: If the copied card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as its value when casting the copies.
#42 (Chris Rahn)

English Archenemy: Nicol Bolas (Mythic Rare)
English Magic 2015 (Mythic Rare)
English Magic 2014 Core Set (Mythic Rare)
English Media Inserts (Special)

German Chandra, Pyromeisterin
French Chandra, pyromaîtresse
Italian Chandra, Padrona del Fuoco
Spanish Chandra, piromaestra
Portuguese Chandra, Piromestra
Japanese 紅蓮の達人チャンドラ
Simplified Chinese 火焰大师茜卓
Russian Чандра, Пиромастер
Traditional Chinese 火焰大師茜卓
Korean 화염의 대가 찬드라

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Chandra, Pyromaster
View Decks with Chandra, Pyromaster
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.