Cathartic Reunion Kaladesh Chandra's Pyrohelix

Chandra, Torch of Defiance Chandra, Torch of Defiance English

Legendary Planeswalker — Chandra (Loyalty: 4), 2RR (4)

+1: Exile the top card of your library. You may cast that card. If you don't, Chandra, Torch of Defiance deals 2 damage to each opponent.

+1: Add {R}{R} to your mana pool.

−3: Chandra, Torch of Defiance deals 4 damage to target creature.

−7: You get an emblem with "Whenever you cast a spell, this emblem deals 5 damage to target creature or player."

Illus. Magali Villeneuve

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2016: An effect that instructs you to “cast” a card doesn't allow you to play lands. If the card exiled with Chandra's first ability is a land card, you can't play it and Chandra deals 2 damage to each opponent.
  • 9/20/2016: If you cast the exiled card, you do so as part of the resolution of Chandra's ability. You can't wait to cast it later in the turn. Timing permissions based on the card's type are ignored, but other restrictions (such as “Cast [this card] only during combat”) are not.
  • 9/20/2016: You pay the costs for the exiled card if you cast it. You may pay alternative costs such as emerge rather than the card's mana cost.
  • 9/20/2016: Loyalty abilities can't be mana abilities. Chandra's second ability uses the stack and can be countered or otherwise responded to. Like all loyalty abilities, it can be activated only once per turn, during your main phase, when the stack is empty, and only if no other loyalty abilities of the planeswalker have been activated this turn.
  • 9/20/2016: The emblem created by Chandra's last ability is colorless. The damage it deals is from a colorless source.
  • 9/20/2016: Chandra's emblem's ability resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger.
  • 9/20/2016: In a Two-Headed Giant game, Chandra's first ability causes 4 damage total to be dealt to the opposing team.
#110 (Magali Villeneuve)

English Kaladesh (Mythic Rare)

German Chandra, Fackel des Widerstands
French Chandra, torche de la défiance
Italian Chandra, Fiamma di Sfida
Spanish Chandra, aurora de la rebeldía
Portuguese Chandra, Chama da Rebeldia
Japanese 反逆の先導者、チャンドラ
Simplified Chinese 反抗烈炬茜卓
Russian Чандра, Факел Непокорности
Traditional Chinese 反抗烈炬茜卓
Korean 저항의 횃불 찬드라

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Chandra, Torch of Defiance
View Decks with Chandra, Torch of Defiance
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.