Azor, the Lawbringer Rivals of Ixalan Dire Fleet Neckbreaker

Deadeye Brawler Deadeye Brawler English

Creature — Human Pirate 2/4, 2UB (4)

Deathtouch

Ascend (If you control ten or more permanents, you get the city's blessing for the rest of the game.)

Whenever Deadeye Brawler deals combat damage to a player, if you have the city's blessing, draw a card.

Illus. Jesper Ejsing

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/19/2018: Once you have the city's blessing, you have it for the rest of the game, even if you lose control of some or all of your permanents. The city's blessing isn't a permanent itself and can't be removed by any effect.
  • 1/19/2018: A permanent is any object on the battlefield, including tokens and lands. Spells and emblems aren't permanents.
  • 1/19/2018: If you cast a spell with ascend, you don't get the city's blessing until it resolves. Players may respond to that spell by trying to change whether you get the city's blessing.
  • 1/19/2018: If you control ten permanents but don't control a permanent or resolving spell with ascend, you don't get the city's blessing. For example, if you control ten permanents, lose control of one, then cast Golden Demise, you won't have the city's blessing and the spell will affect creatures you control.
  • 1/19/2018: If your tenth permanent enters the battlefield and then a permanent leaves the battlefield immediately afterwards (most likely due to the “Legend Rule” or due to being a creature with 0 toughness), you get the city's blessing before it leaves the battlefield.
  • 1/19/2018: Ascend on a permanent isn't a triggered ability and doesn't use the stack. Players can respond to a spell that will give you your tenth permanent, but they can't respond to getting the city's blessing once you control that tenth permanent. This means that if your tenth permanent is a land you play, players can't respond before you get the city's blessing.
  • 1/19/2018: Some cards have triggered abilities with an intervening “if” clause that checks whether you have the city's blessing. These are worded “[Trigger condition], if you have the city's blessing, [effect].” You must already have the city's blessing in order for these abilities to trigger; otherwise they do nothing. In other words, there's no way to have the ability trigger if you don't have the city's blessing, even if you intend to get it in response to the triggered ability.
Printings:
#155 (Jesper Ejsing)

Editions:
English Rivals of Ixalan (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Fahlaugen-Raufbold
French Bagarreur morne-œil
Italian Lottatore dell'Occhio Cieco
Spanish Pendenciero de la Perfidia
Portuguese Brigão da Olho Morto
Japanese 巧射艦隊の喧嘩屋
Simplified Chinese 必达舰队好斗者
Russian Буян Зоркой Флотилии
Traditional Chinese 必達艦隊好鬥者
Korean 데드아이 싸움꾼


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Deadeye Brawler
View Decks with Deadeye Brawler
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.