Elspeth, Knight-Errant Modern Masters Feudkiller's Verdict

Ethersworn Canonist Ethersworn Canonist English

Artifact Creature — Human Cleric 2/2, 1W (2)

Each player who has cast a nonartifact spell this turn can't cast additional nonartifact spells.

"The noble work of our order is to infuse all life on Esper with etherium. Our goal will be reached more rapidly if new life is . . . suppressed."

Illus. Izzy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: The only difference between a colored artifact and a colorless artifact is, obviously, its color. Unlike most artifacts, a colored artifact requires colored mana to cast. Also unlike most artifacts, a colored artifact has a color in all zones. It will interact with cards that care about color. Other than that, a colored artifact behaves just like any other artifact. It will interact as normal with any card that cares about artifacts, such as Shatter or Arcbound Ravager.
  • 10/1/2008: In other words: Each turn, each player can cast any number of artifact spells plus a maximum of one nonartifact spell.
  • 10/1/2008: This effect counts all nonartifact spells that are cast, even those that are countered.
  • 10/1/2008: This effect takes into account spells that were cast earlier in the turn that Ethersworn Canonist entered the battlefield, including any spells still on the stack. However, any spells on the stack as Ethersworn Canonist enters the battlefield have already been cast by that point, so they're not affected by it.
#14 (Izzy)

English Modern Masters (Rare)
English Shards of Alara (Rare)

German Äthergläubiger Kanonist
French Canoniste des Éthermentés
Italian Canonista Eterica
Spanish Canonista etereada
Portuguese Canonista Etherólatra
Japanese エーテル宣誓会の法学者
Simplified Chinese 乙金盟法规师
Russian Канонист Эфироблюстителей

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Ethersworn Canonist
View Decks with Ethersworn Canonist
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.