Eternal Dominion Saviors of Kamigawa Freed from the Real

Evermind Evermind English

Instant — Arcane
(Color Indicator: Blue)

(Nonexistent mana costs can't be paid.)

Draw a card.

Splice onto Arcane {1}{U} (As you cast an Arcane spell, you may reveal this card from your hand and pay its splice cost. If you do, add this card's effects to that spell.)

Illus. Matt Thompson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/1/2005: Evermind is blue in all zones.
  • 6/1/2005: Evermind is a blue Arcane instant card. Cards that check whether a card has any of those attributes will affect Evermind. For example, you can exile it (as a blue card) to pay the alternative costs of spells like Force of Will and Disrupting Shoal (X = 0). You could search for it with Mystical Tutor because it's an instant or Eerie Procession because it's an Arcane spell.
  • 10/15/2006: If a spell or effect, such as Parallectric Feedback, asks for Evermind's converted mana cost, it's 0.
  • 10/15/2006: Evermind has no mana cost, which means it can't normally be cast as a spell. You could, however, cast it via some alternate means, like with Sunforger or Kaho, Minamo Historian.
  • 6/7/2013: You reveal all cards you intend to splice at the same time. Each individual card can be spliced only once onto any one spell.
  • 6/7/2013: A card with a splice ability can't be spliced onto itself because the spell is on the stack (and not in your hand) when you reveal the cards you want to splice onto it.
  • 6/7/2013: You choose all targets for the spell after revealing cards you want to splice, including any targets required by the text of any of those cards. You may choose a different target for each instance of the word “target” on the resulting spell.
  • 6/7/2013: If all of the spell's targets are illegal when the spell tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen.
  • 6/7/2013: Although originally printed with a characteristic-defining ability that defined its color, this card now has a color indicator. This color indicator can't be affected by text-changing effects (such as the one created by Crystal Spray), although color-changing effects can still overwrite it.
  • 9/20/2016: This has no mana cost, which means its mana cost can't be paid for effects such as replicate from Djinn Illuminatus or flashback from Snapcaster Mage.
Printings:
#37 (Matt Thompson)

Editions:
English Saviors of Kamigawa (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Erinnerimmer
French Souvenir éternel
Italian Menteterna
Spanish Mente eterna
Portuguese Mente Eterna
Japanese 常在精神
Simplified Chinese 永铭心間


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Evermind
View Decks with Evermind
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.